SIGHTS / Uncategorized

The Tate Modern

The Tate Modern was certainly the best part of my entire trip to London. It was phenomenal. I am a big fan of modern art and studied many m. artists quite extensively in high school. Seeing their pieces in real life was surreal.

Right in Weblogs and Wikis (#en3177) I learned about Cindy Sherman! Before Weblogs and Wikis I had never heard of her! With her photography she often explored common female stereotypes in Hollywood. She would often dress herself up in a way that portrayed herself as a stereotype for women. Here she wears very exaggerated makeup and facial expression. I thought it was cool to see work from a woman who began the feminist art movement.

12931284_1307406285939902_4537483198107577928_nAbove is a picture of one of the most eerie pieces I saw at the Tate. It was titled “The Tower of Babel”. It made entirely of thousands and thousands of radios. The tower was in a dark room which was illuminated by blue lights. Each radio played a different station and it was a strange combination of classical music, rap, talk shows, and jazz. I had read about the Tower of Babel in the bible.

But the Lord came down to see the city and the tower the people were building. The Lord said, “If as one people speaking the same language they have begun to do this, then nothing they plan to do will be impossible for them. Come, let us go down and confuse their language so they will not understand each other.”

So the Lord scattered them from there over all the earth, and they stopped building the city. That is why it was called Babel[c]—because there the Lord confused the language of the whole world. From there the Lord scattered them over the face of the whole earth.

Genesis 11: 5-9

Basically everyone spoke the same language and God didn’t want everyone to be the same and rise up so he made everyone speak different languages so they couldn’t work together and that instead they would scatter!

12592604_1307406292606568_4465512074844985589_n

The above pieces are Rothko’s. There was an entire room devoted to Rothko’s pieces. It was dimly lit and there were benches for viewing all along the inside. I learned about Rothko’s works from a professor who told the class about a story. In the story his girlfriend was an art major and OBSESSED with Rothkos. She would just go on and on about the Rothkonian trance and how she’d see visions and experience amazing emotions. This professor said he would try and try to stare at the paintings but he would see nothing but the paint on the canvas. Eventually one day after they broke up he experienced it. He couldn’t even put it into words.

I felt like I had so much knowledge and insight already going into the Rothko room. I felt like I knew what I was supposed to feel and was very excited. I was feeling a little anxious because the last exhibit I had viewed was made of tubes with blood in them. Gory and gross. It made me feel a little sick. After going into the Rothko room the benches were very appreciated to sit down on. Rothko thought that his paintings were objects of contemplation which demanded his viewers complete absorbtion. He was a very dark man who wished his viewers to feel dark and caged in while looking at the paintings.

My Rothkonian Experience: I went in and sat down. I sat stared at one of the painting until my eyes burned and I had to blink. After about ten minutes I swear I saw things in the painting. It looked like the gates of hell with buildings falling in the background. It was a very dark feeling. After leaving his exhibit I felt very calm. I didn’t feel stressed. Everything seemed to be in slow motion and everything seemed a little more comical than normal. It made me almost feel high. 10/10 experience.

12924522_1307406999273164_8373844806902651278_n

I was an art teacher for a couple of years at a Boys and Girls Club. It was one of the most rewarding and enjoyable jobs I ever had. I created a unit on Piet Mondrian who’s artwork can be seen above. I NEVER thought that the artwork I taught would be something I would see in REAL LIFE just two short years later. Amazing!

12512658_1307406435939887_6989180366731496340_n

Andy Warhol’s Marilyns

Everyone Has Their Own Point of View- a great feminist piece.

Tate Modern was pure perfection.

Cheers

Em

Leave a Reply

